Posted by: baptistthinker | June 30, 2010

Preparing For A Month Of Using Only Christian Media

I posted a blog post a few days ago, regarding an experiment I am planning to do in the month of July, where I will be using only Christian media. That is to say, I will be reading Christian blogs, Christian books(I’m a big fan of Western Fiction, as well as reading History tomes, when I read non-Christian books), listening to Christian music, reading Christian news sites for a Christian perspective on the news, listening to sermons on my iPod instead of political pundits. I think that this month will be interesting, if nothing else.

In preparing for my month long attempt to absorb only Christian content, I have begun gathering materials and resources to go through in order to keep my mind occupied. I’ve decided to share the list I have so far with my readers.

Music:
Matt Redman
Lecrae
Shai Linne
Maranatha Singers-Hymns CD
Chris Tomlin
Timothy Brindle
Ben Everson

Sermons/Christian Podcasts:
David Platt
Pirate Christian Radio
Alistair Begg
John MacArthur
Fairhaven Baptist Church
Independent Baptist Sermons(It’s a podcast)
Southern Seminary Chapel
I attempted to get Mark Driscoll’s podcast, to give him another chance with me, but for some reason none of his sermons will download to my iTunes. Weird.

Books:
Radical by David Platt
The Fundamentals edited by R.A. Torrey(If this isn’t in your library, why not?)
Overcoming Sin and Temptation by John Owen
Expository Preaching by John MacArthur

In addition to these things, I also intend to do a study on the book of Mark, using a survey of the New Testament, Expository Thoughts on the Gospels by J.C. Ryle, and my Study Bibles. I also intend to study through at least one of the minor prophets(haven’t decided who yet), and the book of Deuteronomy.

I intend to make Sunday a full day of Bible study and ministry. I plan this Sunday to go into Orange Mound in Memphis, TN with a friend, to help at a ministry up there. It’s apparently one that works primarily with inner-city youth, presenting the Gospel and discipling young people who otherwise would be out on the streets. If I like this ministry, I’ll probably be up there every Sunday afternoon after church.

If you happen to think of me during the month of July, please pray for me as I embark on this experiment. I’ve long been a fan of Country oldies, and I frequently listen to talking heads on the radio. I’d prefer not to do so during this month. I’d prefer to keep my focus on something that has been laid on my heart, I believe, by God. I plan to keep my blog updated with what I’m learning and doing during this time, so be sure to check back often for updates on what I’m learning.

Leave a Reply

Categories

