Posted by: baptistthinker | March 9, 2012

That’s My Crowd

Lie not one to another, seeing that ye have put off the old man with his deeds; And have put on the new man, which is renewed in knowledge after the image of him that created him: Where there is neither Greek nor Jew, circumcision nor uncircumcision, Barbarian, Scythian, bond nor free: but Christ is all, and in all.
(Col 3:9-11 KJV)

I was thinking this week, while I was listening to some music. I’m a big fan of country music, I enjoy Nascar and the Rodeo. I enjoy southern Gospel, Bluegrass Gospel, and Country Gospel. I’m more comfortable around a crowd of rednecks, typically, then I am around any other group of people. A few years ago, you’d have only found me hanging out with a bunch of rednecks. I didn’t care to hang around people who weren’t like me. I guess most people are like that, if we’re honest with ourselves. And as I was thinking about this, it occurred to me that most of my current friends aren’t anywhere close to being rednecks. Some of them prefer to listen to Christian rap(which I confess a fondness for as well, compared to most genres of Christian music), some of them to Hillsong, or Chris Tomlin, or Matt Redman. Some of them like punk rock, and some like Justin Bieber. Some are more into dining at restaurants I don’t like, or shop at stores that I consider snooty and pretentious. Some of them read crappy literature, and some barely crack a book open.

Some of these people that I consider among my closest friends, aren’t anything like me. In fact, they’re sometimes the opposite. Some of them are much younger. Some of them are talented musicians(I’m not). So why do I hang out with these people? Why do I spend my time with people who are nothing like me, who enjoy crappy films or listen to music I can’t stand? Why do I hang out with people who wouldn’t go with me to a country concert or a pro rodeo?

The answer is simple. We’ve got something in common far more important than musical tastes, clothing styles, and entertainment preferences. We’ve got Jesus Christ. That makes us family. It makes us closer than family in some cases. My best friend who I grew up with, a man that I can say that I love, he and I don’t have that in common. And even though I would enjoy going to a concert or out to dinner with that old boy, I wouldn’t enjoy our time together like I do with my friends who love Jesus. And even though some of these people drive me nuts at times, they’re my family. They’re my best friends. Christ brought us together into His family, where we are children of God. Being a Christian really is like being a member of a family. I think I’m the crazy and cranky uncle usually in this family, and there are the weird aunts, senile old men, overenthusiastic young people, and we’re all family. We are all in Christ. And that’s all that is needed. I still love country, wearing flannel shirts, big trucks, Wrangler jeans, white-tipped cigars, George Jones, and hanging out with rednecks. But I’d rather hang out with my brothers and sisters in Christ, even if they’re nothing like me. That’s my crowd.

Leave a Reply

Categories

